Monthly Archive for January, 2005

Genetic Enhancement Part II: DNA, Science, and Religion

2005-biotech-leiss-02

William Leiss

WILLIAM LEISS F.R.S.C is Canada’s leading thinker on risk and responsibility in the age of biotechnology. He is the author of numerous influential books, including: Under Technology’s Thumb, The Domination of Nature, In the Chamber of Risks, Risk and Responsibility and Mad Cow and Mother’s Milk. A “public intellectual” in the tradition of Thorsten Veblen, Marshall McLuhan and Northrop Frye, Dr. Leiss has projected his critique of technological determinism into public life, serving as President of the Royal Society of Canada and advising widely on the social and ethical implications of risk controversies and public policy.

William Leiss is a Fellow and Past-President of the Royal Society of Canada; NSERC/SSHRC Research Chair in Risk Communication and Public Policy in the Haskayne School of Business, University of Calgary; Professor, memeritus School of Policy Studies, Queen’s University; and Executive-in-Residence, Mclaughlin Centre for Risk Assesment, University of Ottawa. His most recent book is The Herasaga: A Work of Utopian Fiction www.herasaga.com

Watch or download now »

Genetic Enhancement Part I: The New Technology of Body and Mind

2005-biotech-leiss-01

William Leiss

WILLIAM LEISS F.R.S.C is Canada’s leading thinker on risk and responsibility in the age of biotechnology. He is the author of numerous influential books, including: Under Technology’s ThumbThe Domination of NatureIn the Chamber of RisksRisk and Responsibility and Mad Cow and Mother’s Milk. A “public intellectual” in the tradition of Thorsten Veblen, Marshall McLuhan and Northrop Frye, Dr. Leiss has projected his critique of technological determinism into public life, serving as President of the Royal Society of Canada and advising widely on the social and ethical implications of risk controversies and public policy.

William Leiss is a Fellow and Past-President of the Royal Society of Canada; NSERC/SSHRC Research Chair in Risk Communication and Public Policy in the Haskayne School of Business, University of Calgary; Professor, memeritus School of Policy Studies, Queen’s University; and Executive-in-Residence, Mclaughlin Centre for Risk Assesment, University of Ottawa. His most recent book is The Herasaga: A Work of Utopian Fiction www.herasaga.com

Watch or download now »

Politics in the Age of Empire Symposium Q&A Session

2005-empire-qa-02

Questions and Answers session following the Politics in the Age of Empire Symposium talks by Rob Walker, Warren Magnusson, James Tully and Arthur Kroker.
Watch or download now »

Born Again Ideology

2005-empire-kroker

Arthur Kroker

Department of Political Science, University of Victoria
Watch or download now »

The Persistence of Empire

2005-empire-tully

James Tully

Department of Political Science, University of Victoria
Watch or download now »

The Politics of Scale

2005-empire-magnusson

Warren Magnusson

Department of Political Science, University of Victoria
Watch or download now »

Internationalism, Imperialism, Exceptionalism

2005-empire-walker

Rob Walker

Department of Political Science, University of Victoria
Watch or download now »

Upcoming Schedule