Genetic Enhancement Part II: DNA, Science, and Religion

2005-biotech-leiss-02

William Leiss

WILLIAM LEISS F.R.S.C is Canada’s leading thinker on risk and responsibility in the age of biotechnology. He is the author of numerous influential books, including: Under Technology’s Thumb, The Domination of Nature, In the Chamber of Risks, Risk and Responsibility and Mad Cow and Mother’s Milk. A “public intellectual” in the tradition of Thorsten Veblen, Marshall McLuhan and Northrop Frye, Dr. Leiss has projected his critique of technological determinism into public life, serving as President of the Royal Society of Canada and advising widely on the social and ethical implications of risk controversies and public policy.

William Leiss is a Fellow and Past-President of the Royal Society of Canada; NSERC/SSHRC Research Chair in Risk Communication and Public Policy in the Haskayne School of Business, University of Calgary; Professor, memeritus School of Policy Studies, Queen’s University; and Executive-in-Residence, Mclaughlin Centre for Risk Assesment, University of Ottawa. His most recent book is The Herasaga: A Work of Utopian Fiction www.herasaga.com

Watch or download now »

Genetic Enhancement Part I: The New Technology of Body and Mind

2005-biotech-leiss-01

William Leiss

WILLIAM LEISS F.R.S.C is Canada’s leading thinker on risk and responsibility in the age of biotechnology. He is the author of numerous influential books, including: Under Technology’s ThumbThe Domination of NatureIn the Chamber of RisksRisk and Responsibility and Mad Cow and Mother’s Milk. A “public intellectual” in the tradition of Thorsten Veblen, Marshall McLuhan and Northrop Frye, Dr. Leiss has projected his critique of technological determinism into public life, serving as President of the Royal Society of Canada and advising widely on the social and ethical implications of risk controversies and public policy.

William Leiss is a Fellow and Past-President of the Royal Society of Canada; NSERC/SSHRC Research Chair in Risk Communication and Public Policy in the Haskayne School of Business, University of Calgary; Professor, memeritus School of Policy Studies, Queen’s University; and Executive-in-Residence, Mclaughlin Centre for Risk Assesment, University of Ottawa. His most recent book is The Herasaga: A Work of Utopian Fiction www.herasaga.com

Watch or download now »

Cultural Politics of Bio-Genetics

2004-electronic-leiss

William Leiss

What is the future of human genetic engineering?

Are the clones and chimeras likely to be produced by human genetic engineering part of the biotech future? Or is this vision of the posthuman future something long implied by the cultural history of technology? Are we moving towards the age of the posthuman, or are we trapped in a technological cycle first explored by the writings of Francis Bacon’s Novum Organum?
Watch or download now »

Upcoming Schedule